FISH

I am excited about today… I feel hugely blessed.

I was at the pier to meet someone I only know via internet, wanted to say “hi” since she was in town… she just lost her husband. Go to the pier, drink a milkshake, you know the deal. I wasn’t too excited about it honestly.

And God threw a huge blessing my way. This many anchovies haven’t been seen of our waters in 30 years. http://www.csmonitor.com/Science/2014/0709/Humongous-school-of-anchovies-swarmed-California-coastline for an article about this.

Now the rest of this is going to be photos of the anchovies… they were gone by the time we got done with our shakes.

I am bouncing bouncing BOUNCING and I’m sharing – even over here at HHH where I usually stay all philosophical. Because how many times do you see millions of fish?

004 005 006 007 008 010 011 012 013 014 015

8 thoughts on “FISH

    1. hearthie Post author

      I was fixing my photos when you commented, Come back and see the fishy photos! 😀 I have one that looks like a mile-wide stingray…

      Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Those big black blobs – including the one that sort of looks like a stingray head – are schools of anchovies. I don’t think you can see the individual fish in these pix, except blown up full screen. The fish were hard to see by naked eye – they max out at 6″. So imagine a whole boiling mass of fish – every bit of black you see is nearly solid anchovy.

      Reply
  1. gmaali

    so the part that looks like a shadow on the water is really 500,000,000 fish IN the water? That is crazy. I wonder where they are headed to?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

