Leaving Laodicea

I started researching for this book back in 2018, right after I finished Beauty Destroys the Beast. Writing started in 2019. It’s a departure from my usual fare. What’s it about? It’s about equipping us to be more human. We all live in this digital world, and it’s not real. It’s NOT working for us. It’s NOT working for our society.

But Westerners are rich enough to make different choices with our lives (by and large). So, this book is about the choices we make, the lives we build for ourselves, and for the people around us. We can make different choices, we can take a new path.

I’d appreciate you picking up a copy. If you like it, tell a friend. If you don’t, tell me 🙂

This is what I want to do with my life – write and think and inspire and call out… but I can’t do that if I don’t sell any books. Right now, I’ve written three books and I’m well in the red for them (thank God for supportive husbands). If you think you want me to keep doing this, buy a book. (It really does not matter what type). I will probably write anyway, because I seem to be compelled to write. (Twenty years+ of blogs + 3 books, cough, cough) but it would be nice if I could really WORK on the craft.

But don’t buy a book unless you want a book, because I’m not that chick. If it brings you no value – skip it!!! Please. I hate false advertising, and I hate “if you loved me”. Nah. I’m just telling it like it is. If this door isn’t my door, I’ll have a good pout and go on. Anyway. Below is the cover and the various links.

Laodicea is a worldview that values the rat-race over connection. It’s a physical location that makes it hard to participate in community even if we want to.

Laodicea has its hooks in all of us. We know that what we’re doing isn’t working. We read the statistics about loneliness being more deadly than cigarettes, we struggle to deal with aging parents and caring for our kids, we see the dysfunction. But what else is there? We’re stuck.

Leaving Laodicea is a book that explores the concept of regenerative community. Just as we have begun to learn how to regenerate our soil through regenerative agriculture and permaculture, so too can we regenerate our communities and see them thrive. The future won’t look like the past – and we wouldn’t want it to. But if you’re dissatisfied with the way you’re living and the world you’re living in, isn’t it worth making a change?

Leave a comment