Fragrance of Christ

Was listening to an old sermon online just now (thanks Pastor Dan) and he expressed a concept close to my heart so beautifully and efficiently…

We want to smell like Christ.  To have the fragrance of Christ.  To show forth Jesus, not us.

That expresses one of the secret wishes of my heart, you know – those special things, that you don’t tell people, ’cause they won’t get it?

When I was growing up, there were a few older ladies who just glowed.  Not their physical bodies, but if you got close to them, you could *tell* they’d had Jesus in their lives, and for a good long time, too.  I always wanted to grow up to be someone like *that*.  Someone whose relationship with the Lord just shone, no matter if they were discussing their grocery list or how to trim the dog’s toenails.   They were saturated in the Spirit.

I want that.

I want to go around my life and have people see Christ and smell His presence about me, even if I’m at the vet or having the oil changed in the car.  And as I’m sitting here, He’s just spoken to me about why I try *so hard* to be noticed.  I’ve been trying to make *myself* sparkly so that people might get interested and somehow see Him.  But that’s the wrong way of going about it!!  That’s making the colors in the stained glass more vivid and getting in the way of the light that shines through the panes.

I’ve always wanted to make a difference.  To change things.  To change hearts, to change lives, to show forth the glory of God.

There’s a couple of characters in literature that describe the temporal and eternal nature of this desire – I am so GLAD for Art, because Science can’t get ahold of this descriptor.  And I am shy of admitting these, because they are so very far above me that I am ashamed – as if I dirty the hem by even dreaming so high.

The first is the priest in The Ball and The Cross by Chesterton.  So pure in his faith… ach.  To be so blessed.  The second is in Lewis’ The Great Divorce, the character of Sarah Smith.  Far too grand, either one of them, for a girl like me… but this is the call of my heart.  This is what I want.

2 Corinthians 2:14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place. 15 For we are a fragrance of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing; 16 to the one an aroma from death to death, to the other an aroma from life to life. And who is adequate for these things?

And now I have succinct words for the prayer of my heart.

Lord, let me have Your fragrance today.

2 thoughts on “Fragrance of Christ

Leave a Reply

