How we weaken ourselves… Division

This is my personal axe to grind, with the folks that come and read my blog, all ten of you.

This era in which we find ourselves living in is not a good time for us to fight amongst ourselves.  Those of us who are serious about living a life to the glory of God, who believe the Word of God, who have a meaningful relationship with Christ Jesus – we’re family.  God said so.

Now, I don’t have any sibs IRL, but I’ve observed sibling relationships, and you know… lots of siblings drive each other nutterbutters.   That seems to be pretty normal.  But they’re family, and when chips are down, they have each others’ backs.

I don’t always agree with all of y’all.  That would be impossible, y’all don’t agree with each other.  But I respect you.  I respect your walk of faith.  I respect your allegiance to Christ.   I see how you’re living your lives (insofar as we can, through computer screens) and I see that you’re walking the talk, that you’re consistent.

I don’t care how we do this, but I am beseeching you – we need to mend our fences and get to a place where we can have a few Christmas parties where everyone laughs and someone eats too many cookies.   We need to have prayer meetings.  We need to support one another.

We don’t have to agree.  But now is not the time to fight out the minutiae – now is the time to come together and act like family.  Yeah, sometimes that means pigtail pulling… but we need to leave knowing that we love one another.

When we separate out and stop caring for one another, we play into the enemy’s hands.  Let’s, instead, come together. Please?

1 John 2:Beloved, I am not writing a new commandment to you, but an old commandment which you have had from the beginning; the old commandment is the word which you have heard. On the other hand, I am writing a new commandment to you, which is true in Him and in you, because the darkness is passing away and the true Light is already shining. The one who says he is in the Light and yet hates his brother is in the darkness until now. 10 The one who loves his brother abides in the Light and there is no cause for stumbling in him. 11 But the one who hates his brother is in the darkness and walks in the darkness, and does not know where he is going because the darkness has blinded his eyes. (NASB)

8 thoughts on “How we weaken ourselves… Division

    1. Maeve

      Had me written all over it. And just when I was about to embark on another uncharitable rant.
      This is one of those little moments when we know He is aware of us – He sends us good people to help us become good and worthy people.
      Love you Hearth!

      Reply
  1. A

    My faith has been weak lately. I cannot get traction in any sphere and I’m afraid of God so I won’t ask Him either. Always afraid. Building walls. Walls are good, sometimes. Necessary. Seventeen layers of them, though, only to flee your psychic castle once one layer is penetrated, and proceed to build another?

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Walls between ourselves and God are never necessary and are never good.

      You sound like you’re in distress, and my best advice to you is to mend your prayer and devotional life, ASAP. God loves you and loves to help His children come closer to Him. Praying something so profoundly in His will is bound to be answered in the affirmative… so, it is time to get on your knees and get started.

      All the best – and saying a prayer for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

