Seasons in life

In the World, when you say goodbye to a season in your life, whatever it is, you’re supposed to slam the door and say, “good riddance!”  In Christianity, there’s no such requirement – excepting perhaps the season of our lives before we came to Christ.   The Bible speaks often about the appropriate seasons of life, it doesn’t tell us that we should remain static.  (Rather the opposite).

I’m thinking about this a lot lately.  I don’t *want* to slam the door on the season of life that I’ve inhabited for 16 years.   I’ve spent this time well.  The lessons I’ve learned will stay with me for the rest of my years, whether I’m currently using them or not, and I’m grateful.  I’ve been grateful to have had this time at home.

It’s not like it’s coming to an abrupt end, I’m just switching gears a bit – the home is still my responsibility.  My work won’t be full-time for years yet.  If I choose to resent home-work because it “isn’t who I am now”, I’m a fool.  If I choose to stifle my excitement at my new adventure because “I haven’t made it yet”, I’m likewise foolish.

Learning, changing, developing as a person – I hope to keep doing these things until my dying breath.   I’ve always recoiled in horror at the notion that learning was something one only did in school.   You’re supposed to grow in faith, you’re supposed to grow in knowledge of the Truth, you’re supposed to grow in spiritual maturity.  And if you’re growing in all of that, you can hardly help growing in secular things as well.

Because I don’t eat bread much anymore, I don’t bake much anymore.  I’m glad to know how to make a good loaf of bread even so.    I’m glad to know how to carry a baby properly, to double-dig a garden, to sew a fine seam, to plan the holidays… knowledge isn’t wasted.

So, if you will forgive me – the season coming up isn’t about slamming a door, it’s about stepping into new skills and new duties, and moving along in my pursuit of becoming a Proverbs 31 woman.

What I reject is the idea that simply because I’ve left a season behind, I would ever want to slam a door between it and myself.

Description of a Worthy Woman

10 An excellent wife, who can find?
For her worth is far above jewels.
11 The heart of her husband trusts in her,
And he will have no lack of gain.
12 She does him good and not evil
All the days of her life.
13 She looks for wool and flax
And works with her hands in delight.
14 She is like merchant ships;
She brings her food from afar.
15 She rises also while it is still night
And gives food to her household
And portions to her maidens.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
From her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She girds herself with strength
And makes her arms strong.
18 She senses that her gain is good;
Her lamp does not go out at night.
19 She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
And her hands grasp the spindle.
20 She extends her hand to the poor,
And she stretches out her hands to the needy.
21 She is not afraid of the snow for her household,
For all her household are clothed with scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for herself;
Her clothing is fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is known in the gates,
When he sits among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
And supplies belts to the tradesmen.
25 Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.
26 She opens her mouth in wisdom,
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
27 She looks well to the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:
29 “Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”
30 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.
31 Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates.

8 thoughts on “Seasons in life

  1. Booky McBookerson

    You harvest in autumn what you planted in spring, so it would be silly to resent spring. (TL;DR version, lol).

    Reply
  2. magistratrium

    Yes, I’m moving from one season to another, too. The things I’ve learned in my last season (homemaking, home education, etc) are being used in my new season. I agree that we never stop learning. In fact, as I finish up my season of teaching my children and other people’s children, I am hoping to spend more time learning myself and perhaps even teaching other women in the future. Nothing is a waste in God’s economy.

    I’m excited to see where He leads you, dear friend.

    Reply
  3. Elspeth

    Great post, Hearth. Ran into this just as I am beginning to formulate some 5 year plans and goals. That’s when Sweetie Pie will be 13 and I’ll be facing the season of life that you are now.

    Love what Booky said about your autumn harvest. So succinct yet eloquent.

    Reply
  4. Jenny

    I have no clue what double digging a garden is….may need to learn. Hearthie, it’s wonderful to read about your life.

    Reply
  5. superslaviswife

    I get that weird feeling about moving houses. On the one hand, I have learned from a very young age that I am a nomadic person, so like with other hippie kids, as well as military kids and destitute kids, I feel the itch to move house every couple of years. On the other hand, I look at everything I have done, the changes I have made to my home, the food growing in the garden, the fresh paint on the walls, the shelves and the layout and the overall neatness… and I feel sad that all that I did will just vanish. And then I realize I can start over somewhere new, grow different plants, redo my office layout, have more space, decorate all over again… and that gets me excited. It’s complicated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

