Spiritual Gifts in life

I grew up Baptist.  The Baptists officially believe that the gifts of the Spirit aren’t for use today.  My church never mentioned the controversy, if controversy it is – I can only remember one sermon on tongues, the pastor witnessed a sermon that he had given to a large group having been translated in the ears of some of the hearers, and he said that that was the proper interpretation of the gift of tongues.

Baptists, in other words, don’t go there.

Calvary Chapel does.  Charismatic with a seatbelt is what they call us – in other words, we don’t do standing up during Sunday service and just going for it.  In fact, our “afterglow” services are few and far between.   But if you want healing, you call the church secretary and she’ll set you up for a meeting with the elders, and they’ll pray over you.  Sometimes God heals.  Sometimes not.  But it’s not “I had a sore back” kind of healings – it’s big stuff.  Like, I talked to a lady who’d been healed of liver cancer.  To God be the glory.  We have an exorcism team.  Again, you go through channels….  too many weird folks in this world, want a sensation, want a miracle only for the entertainment value.

And of course ours is not a faith based upon experiences.  Experiences are awesome, but they’re not *why* we believe.  I believe in Jesus, not in feelings.

So that makes me shy of this subject a bit, but … I read y’all’s blogs and I wonder… am I the only one in this circle who has felt the power of the Holy Spirit at work?  Who finds prayer occasionally euphoric?  Who gets words stuck in her mouth (or removed)?

Am I the only one who belongs to a church who matter-of-factly prays for God’s will and waits on His command, expecting Him to answer clearly?  Who considers this all just part and parcel of the Christian walk?

It’s a blessing.  It’s a blessing to know that if I ask, God will answer.  That I’m not going to be let flounder around like a fish on the sidewalk.  It’s a blessing when God speaks through me (not tongues, I don’t have tongues).  Prayer when I can feel the Holy Spirit pouring through me is *amazing*.  Corporate prayer is phenomenal.  I’ve been known to be high for days after getting together for prayer.  It’s like there’s so much joy inside of me that there’s not enough room.

Sometimes I just get so full of joy or love … I just about can’t stand it.  I want to be able to share it, to share that feeling.

There’s stuff I’ve been given peace about, things I’ve prayed about for years.  And they still haven’t happened, but I’m at peace, like… it’s already completely sorted, it just hasn’t happened yet.  Talk about the peace that passes all understanding – ’cause I don’t understand it.  Sometimes I try to worry after those things, even though I’m not worried, just because I’m letting my flesh try to take control.  It’s not prophecy, I don’t know how it’s playing out – just that God’s got it.

I guess I’m writing this because I want to share, to compare notes, to witness to God’s glory and His awesomeness.   This should be a normal part of the Christian walk, IMO – there’s no reason to treat something that’s written about so often as abnormal.   Maybe y’all are even shyer than I am?

Discuss.  🙂

10 thoughts on “Spiritual Gifts in life

  1. Elspeth

    I don’t know that I can recount experiences like you describe Hearth. Almost every time I feel that I have clearly been directed by God it’s in the form of His word hidden in my heart.

    Oh, there have been a couple of times (and I mean just a couple) when I have gotten what felt like a direct admonishment or instruction about something I needed to address in my life, but it’s not a regular occurrence. Oh, yes. And the one time I was led to bless a family (anonymously) and much later heard the praise report that resulted from what we had done.

    Sometimes I have amazing experiences at church, but mostly, I am just thankful for the redemption I have found in Christ. I don’t feel like I’m left to flounder. I accept that for the most part, what the apostles experienced was for a set time and I’m okay with that.

    I was raised Baptist, too. Can you tell?

    Reply
  2. seriouslyserving

    I relate to a lot of this, Hearthie.

    I was raised Baptist and Presbyterian (Australian), and wrote about the impact of that on my doctrine of “feelings” and the Holy Spirit a bit here: https://seriouslyservingthesaviour.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/presbyterians-have-feelings-too/

    Similar to Elspeth, I often hear the Spirit speak to me through the Scripture in my heart.
    One example from last year, was when I was in the early stages of pregnancy following a miscarriage a few months before. I felt so worried, almost to the point of not wanting to allow myself to get excited about the baby until I passed a certain point. One day as I arrived home in the car, these thoughts churning over in my head, I heard a clear voice inside my head say, “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to her baby’s life?” A paraphrase of Scripture, sure. But I got the message, loud and clear – don’t put off celebrating this life; your worrying achieves nothing. Praise God for giving me just what I needed in that moment!

    Reply
  3. Jenny

    I find myself more “mystical” than most Christians I know, but stay quiet about it because it weirds them out.

    Reply
  4. Jenny

    I don’t speak in tongues, but my best friend did growing up and I’ve seen it many times, especially during prayers. I believe healing and miracles still happen today.

    Reply
  5. sarahsdaughter2

    From what I can tell, we’re an unusual group of Lutherans. We don’t attend a church, nor do we overly concern ourselves with traditions or rituals. We just pray without ceasing. In our home it is rare when a conversation doesn’t involve the Word. No fluffy/churchy talk, we don’t know how to do that. Just very matter of fact declarations of the Word and a constant communication with God. God as a game designer, His game, His rules, type of thing. RLB often will reflect on the way in which our lives change, the opportunities that came before us, the looking back and saying “that happened, and if it didn’t happen, that wouldn’t have happened, and then this happened…” and then he says with full sarcasm “yeah, like I’m smart enough to have figured all of that out!”

    I have experienced God’s voice. It was external, it did not come from within, it wasn’t from my heart or my brain or what I *knew* was the right thing to do. I was contemplating divorcing RLB and had just mentioned it to him again that I was quitting. He left and went to the beach (we were on a post deployment vacation in South Padre Island, TX). A battle ensued around me – very loud, dark energy and, in contrast a voice that overwhelmed the darkness “If you love me, you’ll be obedient to me, you will not divorce your husband” The very loud, dark energy stopped. Everything was quiet and in that moment I confessed my sin of rebellion, repented of it, and committed myself. I went and found RLB on the beach, apologized to him and told him I will never divorce him, he has my word, I will never quit. It was a matter of fact statement with no emotion (no tears, no pleading, no manipulation). Then I walked away. It was a couple years later RLB asked me what happened to me there that made me do a 180. Coolest thing I have ever experienced.

    Reply
  6. hearthie Post author

    For me, yes, 99% of the time the Word is from the Bible. I’m in the Word on the daily, and when I’m in prayer, I read more Bible to seek God’s will. Although yes, I ask what I should be reading when I do that.

    But… it seems weird that we have a faith in the Supernatural and don’t talk (ever) about supernatural stuff. As I’ve been going to CC and it’s normal there to talk about the things God is doing in our lives… it does increase faith, it increases the looking-around at the “small things”.

    Reply
  7. Ame

    i, too, was raised baptist. i’m not against speaking in tongues, but that’s never been something i’ve experienced. however, there have been many times when i’ve experienced God, Jesus the Holy Spirit, so powerfully that it was like my molecules were rearranged, or something. there have been times i have spoken, and it was not me … it was Jesus … b/c the words were for the person hearing them. when i was working through abuse in my past years ago, my therapist told me to ask God where He was when it was happening, and He did. He gave me several visions which showed me exactly where He was and what He was doing. very powerful.

    these have been during times i was immersed in His Holy Word and in prayer.

    there is an online, free, spiritual gifts test that i think is cool, and speaking in tongues in one of the gifts they address. it’s been years since i’ve taken this test, but i would guess it hasn’t changed much. here’s the link if interested (i have no affiliation with this link at all … just found it online once many years ago): https://gifts.churchgrowth.org/cgi-cg/gifts.cgi?intro=1

    Reply
  8. Lisa Laree

    I was raised in an independent Baptist church. We had a church split over the gifts of the Spirit when I was in high school; our pastor actually said, from the pulpit, ‘Speaking in tongues was for the first century and any manifestation of that today is the devil trying to divide the body of Christ.’ But at age 16…I could read for myself Paul’s injunction NOT to forbid people to speak in tongues (1 Cor 14:39), which did not seem to have an expiration date on it. But I gave it a wide circle for many years. It was a slow process to bring me around to where I am now…in a non-denominational, pentecostal style church. But I have weirded folks out with the offhand comment that ‘God showed me…’. I mean, it wasn’t something I would’ve thought up myself. How else would I have gotten the revelation? So I try to be low key but tell the truth. It’s hard. Not that I don’t want to offend folks…but I don’t want them to shut down so they will not receive the message. Maybe that’s the Holy Spirit’s job and not mine?

    Maybe it’s time to relate the story of that journey on the blog. Hmmm…..

    Reply
  9. pukeko60

    The number of times I have had a clear word is few. And normally, they sober me. For my own unworthiness is very apparent in those moments.
    My parents left Kiwi Presbyterians eventually over the Charismatic movement and went Elim, which is similar to Calvary but with louder music (Think HIllsong at 120 dB). And they have gone off corporate singing in the Spirit.

    For good reasons, I might add. Decently and in order, and all that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

