Takeaways from my conversations

One of the biggest things that I took away from my time with the JW lady (don’t worry, I see them out nearly every day in my neighborhood, there will be subsequent victims) is some of the more irritating things she did to try to convert me.   I’m taking note of that stuff!

Another thing I’m taking note of, and something I’m going to be working on, is a more thoughtfilled apologetic.  That’s going to be my New Year’s project (I already get plenty of strenuous exercise), marking up my old KJV Bible for apologetic use.  Notes in the margins, color coded gel pens, that sort of thing.

I have an excellent memory, but when someone is hitting you at 10 million verses per minute, you need to not just remember the words of the text, you need to be able to source it.   Precision.  I’ve been auditing lots of apologetics “courses” on youtube and in text, why not do the homework and be more prepared?

Another thing I need to study/mimic is rhetoric.  I need to find a style that works for me.  The aggressive debate thing is NOT something I’m comfortable with.   I’ve been watching Ravi Zacharias and I like his slow questioning style… but you really have to know where to insert the questions.  I think that style is more comfortable today, where people are 1) not good with confrontation 2) completely untrained in the rules of debate and rational thought.

It’s made me very thoughtful, doing the research on JW and cults in general – Christianity is NOT a cult, and we have reasons for our belief, but how many of us know those reasons?  I know them, but am failing at communicating them.  Why?  Because I am not individually that interested, since it’s not like I can’t feel the Holy Spirit within me all the time.  But that inner light and joy isn’t something that can be conveyed to others without long acquaintance… and sometimes not even then.  We do have reasons, we could be better at giving them out.  *I* could be better at giving them out – and the bits that are foundational, not the deep and deeply random bits that I am currently contemplating/finding interesting.

This is a command that I’m failing to obey, last I checked that was sin.  So – confession, repentance, and a plan to fix the problem.

1 Peter 3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

4 thoughts on “Takeaways from my conversations

  1. Elspeth

    I started watching Ravi Z. on YouTube after you mentioned the videos. Great stuff there. My biggest challenge at this point is taking advantage of the occasions I have to witness (after I step up my own study and apologetics). Reading your posts has really highlighted to me how very little I interact with non-Christians outside of my immediate family. And family requires a different tact than a person who is an atheist or part of a religious cult of apostate brand of “Christianity”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

