Unity

This was a wonderful week of being taken outside of myself and outside of my strength – and this post is a praise, and something to muse upon.

Because I didn’t have the strength to do the things I had to do… I had to pray, and ask my friends to pray for me.  And I was given sufficient strength to do all that I needed, and more.

Because I didn’t have the wisdom to counsel … I prayed, and asked friends to pray, and was given the words that needed to be said.

Because I was faithful and went to do the church-work that I signed on to do, even though it could have been rescheduled, I was blessed and refreshed in my work.

I was blessed to be asked to pray by some of my sibs in Christ, blessed in fellowship online and off, and so what I bring out of this week is a profound sense of the unity of the family of Christ, and a gratitude for all of you, my sisters and brothers.

Subsisting outside my strength and competence, this came to me:  I need to trust God more, rest in Him more, and remove “myself” from the equation more often.  I want to move to a place where I am as interested and excited about what God might choose to do through me today as I am about anyone else – and as separate from any sense of pride.

I battle frustration in my evangelical work.  Some sow, some water, some reap.  I do what I can about sowing and watering, but reaping hasn’t been given to me.  Not for lack of trying or praying!  It is frustrating, when you care deeply about the end result, to not see fruition.   I want to just … try harder!  Must try harder!  But that is the flesh.

It is time for me to take my hands off and let them be directed from Above.  To eagerly accept any opportunity to bless or to speak or to love… but not to try to plan those opportunities and figure out what I “should” say or do.  To not grab after the joy of being involved, but to rest and let God work through me.

It is hard to accept that other humans have their own timetables, their own stuff going on, and that it is impossible to know enough of the contributing factors so that you can say, “if I X, then Y will occur”.  Heavens, even if you knew everything, there’s still free will.

I want to be the best blessing I can be – and that means that I let God choose, not me.  God knows better, He loves the people around me more than I do, and He knows my abilities and my heart – and He knows the right moment.

I must rest in Him.

3 thoughts on “Unity

  1. Elspeth

    A word fitly spoken [or written] is like apples of gold in a setting of silver. Proverbs 25:11

    I needed this reminder, so thank you for sharing your experience and heart today.

    Reply
  2. Jenny

    “Because I was faithful and went to do the church-work that I signed on to do, even though it could have been rescheduled, I was blessed and refreshed in my work.”
    I’m facing this now, I’ve signed up to lead VBS this summer, then found out we are moving. Have no idea how I’m going to manage both, but God is faithful. It makes me think of the story in the OT, where the man had a big army, then God took him to a stream and had him pick out only the men who cupped their hands to drink, and send the rest of them home.

    Judges 7:1-6
    Early in the morning, Jerub-Baal (that is, Gideon) and all his men camped at the spring of Harod. The camp of Midian was north of them in the valley near the hill of Moreh. The Lord said to Gideon, “You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into their hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength has saved me.’ Now announce to the army, ‘Anyone who trembles with fear may turn back and leave Mount Gilead.’” So twenty-two thousand men left, while ten thousand remained.
    But the Lord said to Gideon, “There are still too many men. Take them down to the water, and I will thin them out for you there. If I say, ‘This one shall go with you,’ he shall go; but if I say, ‘This one shall not go with you,’ he shall not go.”
    So Gideon took the men down to the water. There the Lord told him, “Separate those who lap the water with their tongues as a dog laps from those who kneel down to drink.” Three hundred of them drank from cupped hands, lapping like dogs. All the rest got down on their knees to drink.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

