The Opposite of a Mid-Life Crisis

What’s the opposite of a mid-life crisis?  Can someone look that up for me, please?

I’m feeling very nostalgic this year.  It all started when I went digging for an old photo, because I was thinking of my husband and his two best friends from HS and college.  Their photo was in our wedding album, and I started flipping through, amazed that in just a few short months, we’ll be celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary.

Amazing.  Oh, it doesn’t feel like yesterday – but surely it was only five years ago?  Not 20?

I don’t feel old.  I’ve been expressing this to a few folks, and they think I feel old.  I don’t.  Sorry, I have the world’s best mom for attitude on aging, as far as she was concerned, 40 was when you get a good start on things, and your fifties are the best decade hands down.  (I’m 42, fwiw).  The only time I feel old is when I ask my son if his workout made him sore… and it doesn’t… and I’m having to hold onto walls to ease myself down into a chair.  Fourteen, I wouldn’t be 14 again… but can I have the recovery rate?  I’d also like the metabolism and the skin elasticity, while you’re at it.  But no, I don’t feel old.  I feel like myself.

I was snuggling up to my husband this morning and thinking that we’re right in the middle of our child-rearing cycle.  Ten years ago, we were getting ready to celebrate our daughter’s first birthday and our son was finishing off his first year in preschool.  Today, the son was making me waffles and sausage for breakfast…  It’s a wonderful time in the cycle of momness.  Ten years from now, it’s quite possible that we won’t have kids at home.  Likely, even.

Mind-blowing.  Even five years from now, our son will be in college, whether here or away.  Five years!

Yes, now is the time of transition… where I figure out what I’m doing with my life post-kids in the home.  It’s also the time to count my blessings, except I can’t count that high.

So what do you call it, when you feel greatly blessed, when all around you, you see opportunities for personal growth, for familial growth, when you look forward eagerly to the years ahead and all that they have in store?  When you look around and are absolutely jaw-to-the-floor in awe?  When you look ahead and it looks *even better*?

Why blog this? 1) Because I’m thinking it 2) Because maybe someone, somewhere, can get some hope and blessing from it.  3)  We have to share the good stuff, it reminds folks that it’s still out there.

Happy Mothers’ Day, y’all.  I’d share my waffles, but you’re too far away.  😀

4 thoughts on “The Opposite of a Mid-Life Crisis

  1. Elspeth

    So what do you call it, when you feel greatly blessed, when all around you, you see opportunities for personal growth, for familial growth, when you look forward eagerly to the years ahead and all that they have in store? When you look around and are absolutely jaw-to-the-floor in awe? When you look ahead and it looks *even better*?

    I actually do feel a bit of this despite my recent moanings brought on by the reality of having a child who is a newly minted college graduate. I see sunshine ahead in a lot of areas of my life. Nothing to complain about or fear, really. God has been so wonderfully gracious to us.

    But yeah, on Saturday, I felt a little old, LOL.

    Reply
  2. Sasha Cohen

    I like your mom’s outlook. Mid-life has hit my hard. This is a great blog post. I have been struggling with personal issues for 10 years and have found reaching out online to seek the advice of others has helped me through the good and bad time. I had a ton of issues with my midlife crisis and have started to follow the advice of Dr. Robi Ludwig. I saw her on a tv show once and I really appreciated her take on current psychological issues. She has written two books but my favorite book is with Your Best Age is Now I have read it and loved it! I highly recommend it to anyone out there struggling with dealing with midlife. I got hit hard during my 40’s and this book really helped me to become a better version of myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

