Parsimony and Personal Growth

Today’s post will be a bit more personal, about something I’m working through in my own walk.

Mark 4:24 And He was saying to them, “Take care what you listen to. By your standard of measure it will be measured to you; and more will be given you besides. 25 For whoever has, to him more shall be given; and whoever does not have, even what he has shall be taken away from him.”

Luke 6: 38 Give, and it will be given to you. They will pour into your lap a good measure—pressed down, shaken together, and running over. For by your standard of measure it will be measured to you in return.”

Luke 11: “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks, receives; and he who seeks, finds; and to him who knocks, it will be opened

James 1:But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him. But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind. For that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord, being a double-minded man,unstable in all his ways.

First off… I was only looking for Luke 6:38, and look at all the verses that popped up with “give, and it will be given”.

I have a tendency to over-control my enthusiasms with parsimony.   I try so very hard to be “sensible” and mindful of my pocketbook.  Not necessarily my cash… my available amount of energy, time, etc.  as well.

I was thinking about that.  For years, I’ve been doing the “sensible” thing about exercise.  Do a bit of walking, because I have been sedentary for too long.  Start a bit of isometric exercise, but don’t do so much that my other activities are constrained by being tired.  With tight hands on the purse strings of my energy (and willingness-to-tolerate-discomfort), I saw initial improvements, and then not a lot of change.  Suddenly this year I fell into doing Crossfit – which is *not* sensible, and the last thing you’d send me to try. But now I see consistent improvement – and the energy expended is, for the first time ever, being repaid.  On my off days, I’m able to do twice what I could do before.  (On my on days I still take naps, lol).  Parsimony?  Got me a sensible amount of improvement.  After all, what can you expect of a 42yo mother who is permanently injured?  Sensible.  I’m starting to think that might be a dirty word – at least for now.

I have difficulty bringing people along with me when I’m enthusing about things, particularly aesthetic things.  So I tamp myself down, trying not to offend or confuse – and then I lose the part of myself that stands, jaw agape, at beauty.  Being polite over being transcendent, over awe.

God didn’t tell us to hold our pursestrings to our chests and not take chances.  He told us to give out what we’ve been made stewards over, and to trust that He would give back, to us, in even greater ways.  That truth is usually applied to our stewardship of His financial blessings (and oy vey, is it twisted), but can’t it be applied to other things as well?  Can we not trust God with *every* part of our lives?

Can’t we be a bit mad?  Let our love lead us into the crazy things, the impossible dreams, and then step off, into faith?  Oh yes, make sure you’re wearing that seatbelt – hold fast to God, to His Word, to His Will.   But then… but then perhaps the reason that I am not finding as much change as I crave is because I am still holding on, too tightly, to “being sensible”, to going slowly, to watching my feet.

If the tree is really going to grow, eventually the pot it’s planted in is going to burst, because the roots will get too big.  Maybe …. maybe it’s time to stop root-binding myself and push hard to grow, and let God figure out what kind of pot to put me in next.

He’s got this, after all.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Parsimony and Personal Growth

  1. Feminine But Not Feminist

    You’re doing Crossfit?!? Wow that’s definitely an “out of your comfort zone” thing, lol. I have a friend that does that, and it sounds absolutely brutal. Mad props to you Hearthie! A regular gym it is for me, lol. 😉

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Yep. They modify it for me! Actually, you’d be surprised how nice they are in those boxes and how willing they are to modify the workouts. But it’s still **hard** work. Not the same hard work that the 25yo man down the row is doing, mind you. 🙂 But hard for me!

      Reply
  2. superslaviswife

    Think of everything you have as a resource. Money is valuable, but only as long as you spend it. Otherwise it’s rocks and paper. Your time is valuable, but only if you use it wisely. Likewise, your knowledge is valuable when you share it, your skills are valuable when you use them and your power is valuable when you wield it. Without action, everything is rocks and paper.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

