The World tried to kill Truth, but they only blinded themselves

Proverbs 1:20 Wisdom shouts in the street,
She lifts her voice in the square;
21 At the head of the noisy streets she cries out;
At the entrance of the gates in the city she utters her sayings:
22 “How long, O naive ones, will you love being simple-minded?
And scoffers delight themselves in scoffing
And fools hate knowledge?
23 “Turn to my reproof,
Behold, I will pour out my spirit on you;
I will make my words known to you.
24 “Because I called and you refused,
I stretched out my hand and no one paid attention;
25 And you neglected all my counsel
And did not want my reproof;
26 I will also laugh at your calamity;
I will mock when your dread comes,
27 When your dread comes like a storm
And your calamity comes like a whirlwind,
When distress and anguish come upon you.
28 “Then they will call on me, but I will not answer;
They will seek me diligently but they will not find me,
29 Because they hated knowledge
And did not choose the fear of the Lord.
30 “They would not accept my counsel,
They spurned all my reproof.
31 “So they shall eat of the fruit of their own way
And be satiated with their own devices.
32 “For the waywardness of the naive will kill them,
And the complacency of fools will destroy them.
33 “But he who listens to me shall live securely
And will be at ease from the dread of evil.” (NASB)

How many atheists/agnostics do you know who talk about their chakras, buy centering crystals, or rearrange their furniture for the best chi?  They fidget around with the trappings of religion, while ignoring the religion itself.  (It is refreshing to debate an honest practitioner of another religion – but may I imagine that the devout Hindu is as disgusted with the popularizing of the externals of their faith as we Christians are of people who use crosses as fashion statements?)

How many people do you know who have rearranged their mental definitions of basic things, like gender and marriage and appropriate things to talk to kindergarteners about, based on the opinion of the herd?

How many people do you know who don’t think there is a God (or god) and yet… they pray and ask for prayers (or positive thoughts) when something goes badly?

No one examines these things.  No one thinks “what makes the rainbow chakra work?”  “Why do positive thoughts help heal?”  “Who am I praying to, and why do I think he/she/it cares about me at all?”  “Well, then – what does it mean to be male, female, or married?”  No one extrapolates.   No one examines.  They accept reiki and never wonder what makes it work…

Why?

John 14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.  (NASB)

Because if we are encouraged to think about Truth, to examine reality, then there is a chance that we will come to Christ.  We can’t be satisfied with sugar once we’ve tasted steak.  That’s why post-modernism came, to kill truth.  Because if you think, “What makes my meditation meaningful” and extrapolate out to the gods and goddesses of Hinduism, or the spirits of Tibetan Buddhism, or the worship of Astarte… perhaps you find that the God of the Bible is suddenly *much* more appealing?  Truth frees you from falsehood.  Yes, some of the pagans were forced to convert – but the gospel was good news to so many, many more.

In the World, truth is dead – and it is dead because it is dangerous.  Conservative Christian attempts to use logic to argue with Worldlings is like trying to perform CPR on a corpse.  They don’t speak logic any more, and the bracing cold of truth is but a breeze that ruffles their hair.  They are defended by their own willful delusions.

2 Thessalonians 2:10 and with all the deception of wickedness for those who perish, because they did not receive the love of the truth so as to be saved. 11 For this reason God will send upon them a deluding influence so that they will believe what is false, 12 in order that they all may be judged who did not believe the truth, but took pleasure in wickedness.

It is *so* frustrating.  How do you explain yourself, to a Worldling?  How do you explain your faith?

Again I come to the place where I look around and see that the paradigm of apologetics and intelligent argument is dying, and I ask myself – and then more usefully, ask the Lord – “what now?”  “How do we communicate the Truth, when truth is just an opinion, lightly held?”  We no longer use the same words as the Worldlings, for our words mean something very different – so discourse is rapidly becoming meaningless.

And yet, and yet – we must get out the Word, for they are not yet dead, and so may be saved.

So, what now?  I would *like* some thoughts and discussion about this, if y’all have any!!!

Pingback to Chris, who is apparently thinking some of the same things today.  http://pukeko.net.nz/blog/2015/04/the-elite-fall-christ-stays-i-col-1/

7 thoughts on “The World tried to kill Truth, but they only blinded themselves

  1. Pingback: Godwin’s miscegenated stupid is by design. | Dark Brightness

  2. Elspeth

    Honestly Hearth? I don’t know how we communicate Truth to a world that doesn’t believe there is such a thing.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      I’m wondering (of course the Bapticostals are starting through Acts) if maybe we should pray for the more extravagant gifts of the Spirit…

      And I was listening to a study on Ezekiel, and Missler was saying that God was consistent in calling the witness to WITNESS, but not to convert. That Ezekiel had Israel’s fate on his hands only if he wasn’t faithful to speak the truth, but that the Holy Spirit is the one who softens and changes hearts.

      This is, I think, true, but it’s so frustrating… I want to shake so many beloved friends into seeing the truth… -sighs-

      Reply
  3. Stingray

    I always liked this Father Barron video on evangelizing through beauty.

    So how do we apply it? It’s not easy, but I think the most noticeable is how we live. People will notice it. Some may hate it, some may find it intriguing. But people see it. I think when we do our best to live as we are taught we should live, there is beauty there. We can use this beauty to show the Truth and for those willing to listen, to talk to them about it.

    Also, I haven’t read the whole thing yet, but John C. Wright, who was a militant atheist and is now a devout Catholic, has his own ideas in how to do this.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Sweet! Thanks, Stingray. 🙂 You know I’m all about beauty – and yes, it’s becoming rare enough to be an evangelism tool. Will check out that link in a bit.

      Reply
      1. hearthie Post author

        I really liked that! I’ll have more to say… because it’s a theme I’ve written on extensively before. Good things to say and tears to weep, both.

Leave a Reply

