Musings about Reality

Just thoughts drifting through after church tonight.

Pastor Mike has no use for fellow pastors who want to change the Word of God.  Apparently he got some emails about changing the Bible to reflect modern sensibilities.  He was MAD.

I’m completely down with this.  You know, I don’t expect worldlings to believe the Word of God or take it seriously, or as sacred.  But pastors?  On God’s payroll?  Speaking for Him, professionally?  Um. NO.

But that takes us to another place – he was talking about Defense Of Marriage Sunday (next week), and while I’m tots down with voting my conscience and God’s law, I think we’re well past the line of insanity on this.  Logically – if there is no Creator, then there’s no reason that the bald bipeds shouldn’t do whatever they can get away with and make up whatever rules they want.

I think we’ve lost the argument against gay marriage when we refer to it as gay marriage, period.  It’s just not marriage.  It doesn’t matter what the state says, it’s still not a marriage.  Humans can’t make it a marriage, it’s not possible.  I can point at a lime all afternoon and say, “lemon!” and it still isn’t a lemon.  Similar, but not.  The law is relevant to how American Christians have to live life and interact with our government, but it’s ultimately not relevant to God or reality.

I’ve read the arguments pro “marriage equality” and they come down to saying that since the functions are similar, the title should be the same.  It reminds me of when I was sleeping with my boyfriend (now DH for those of you keeping score at home) and crying out to God and making excuse and saying, “but we’re going to get married!  It’s just like being married – we share a bank account and…” and I knew perfectly well that what was coming out of my mouth was manure designed to make me feel better about doing something wrong.  (FWIW it wasn’t like being married, once I got married and learned the difference).

I don’t really under… wait. I do.  Because under all the hogwash about not believing in the God of the Bible (you know, the One with actual standards of behavior), everyone has this visceral understanding of Him, and therefore they desire to please Him or at least not tick Him off too much.  “I will make this thing I am doing that is bad NOT bad by getting everyone else to agree with me that it’s not-bad”.  Which is why they get SO mad at those of us who are stubborn about saying that fornication in all its festive forms is against the rules.

It was Dr. McGee who said that it wasn’t proof of God that kept folks away from Him, it was the fondness people have for their pet sins.  And that’s my personal gripe with “gay marriage”.  It makes it that much harder to give up your sin and walk away from it and walk towards God.  If you’re doing something under cover so no one knows, you kind of feel good when you leave it behind.  When you commit to the doing of something in front of the whole wide world… wow, that makes it really hard to make a change, even if you wanted to.  It grieves me to see that extra wall put up between sinners and repentance.

For all that it’s hard to walk the line (having walked both ways), it’s also such a relief.  Because I am right with God, I can have a life of transparency.  After all, if it’s kosher with God, it’s kosher.

And we wander back to our muttons – as we see the World today replacing the constant standard of behavior laid down by the Lord with group consensus.  Thus you have SJWs – front line troops working to break down the folks who don’t go with the latest versions of groupthink.  You wonder why they care what you and I think about their behavior … but they care because while we stand for God, we remind them that there IS a real standard.  Not post-modernist “there is no reality, there is no truth”.

And so – we can expect to be attacked for what we believe.  C’est la vie.  I leave you with one more thought, from this morning’s mentor meeting/teaching:

2 Corinthians 10: For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ,

2 thoughts on “Musings about Reality

  1. Pingback: An Act of Radical Witness [Luke 6] | Dark Brightness

Leave a Reply

