Go With the Flow

I’ve been writing about this a lot, I know that.  But I have a tendency to be such a micro-manager of life.  “Okay God – you’re going to send me five gallons of blueberries next week?  I’ll get right on researching recipes!”  It’s not like that’s totally a bad thing, but I will totally start obsessing, like I think I know what’s happening next week or next month or next year.

The Bible is clear about this.

Proverbs 27:1 Do not boast about tomorrow,
For you do not know what a day may bring forth.

Isaiah 56:12 “Come,” they say, “let us get wine, and let us drink heavily of strong drink;
And tomorrow will be like today, only more so.”

Matthew 6:34 “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

James 4:13-15  Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.” Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead,you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.”

It’s so easy to confuse due diligence in planning and obedience with fore-knowledge and control.  The Bible has a lot to say about wisdom – including sensible planning.  But the Bible isn’t just about being sensible, the Bible is a book which points us to God.  And God wants us to have faith in Him.  Radical faith, a faith that relies on His goodness and His plans.

I’m learning to pray and pray about what’s going on rather than asking God for a specific solution.   Just beginning to learn, – I so don’t have this down.  And as I do this, as I open myself to His solutions, and I learn to watch for the doors He opens for me.

And as I do that, life become so much more exciting.  It’s like there’s a happy surprise around each corner, a little gift in each moment of the day.  I learn to be more grateful, as I say thank you for the sustaining blessings that keep me up and moving.   I enjoy more.  And I stop micromanaging God.  “Oh, is *this* the solution You are bringing me to that problem?  Wow!  I’d never have thought of *that*!”

Yes.  God likes sensible, obedient children.  He also likes children that will follow Him wherever He leads.  The two don’t have to be mutually exclusive.  God *loves* crazy faith.  OT or NT… read your Word.  God wants this from us, from all of us.  Be ready for the crazy, out of left field solution… sometimes you just might find yourself fielding that ball.

Leave a Reply

