Different people, different attitudes

I mostly don’t mind if folks “blog in my comment box” and I know that Elspeth doesn’t either… but sometimes you want to go a bit off topic and really GO – and at that point, you need to drag it back to your own blog to do your talkin’.

Post that started me ranting:  http://lovingintheruins.wordpress.com/2014/12/07/random-snippet-of-the-wife-you-dont-want-to-be-after-5-decades/

Perfectly reasonable post.  Observation/avoidance:  don’t be this person.  K.   But the comments (as they do) went berzonkers.

So.  Here’s my take.

If you’re not a Christian, I’m going to explain what I’d do, what’s important to me, why it’s important, and leave you to it.  You don’t play by my rules, you don’t care about my Referee, it’s a total waste of time to do anything but “well, this works – look how well it works when we play by the rules.  And have you met the Ref?”  You don’t want to play by my rules?  Fine, there is *no reason* for me expect you to do so.  Would this world be a better place if you did?  Yes.  Oh well, that’s life.

If you’re a Christian, and you’re stuck in a hard place, and you’re resolved to obey but daaaang it’s hard and it hurts – you’re going to get compassion.  I’ll pray for you.  I’ll offer helpful tips.  I’ll smile and hold your hand and hug you and help you as much as I can.   I’ve been in some gnarly places, and I know how bad it can be.  It’s cool.  That’s why we’re a *family* of believers, right?  You need a sister?  You’ve got one.

If you’re a Christian, but you don’t want to obey… well, I’ve got no time for that.  Suck it up, buttercup.  You *know* what the Bible says (and if you don’t, I’m happy to give you chapter and verse).  You don’t want to obey God?  Well, that’s between you and Him.

I assume – until proven otherwise – that most of the folks I meet fall into one of the first two categories, and I give my all to be a light and an encouragement.  I *like* encouraging people.  God made me for that, it feels like being a conduit of joy… seriously, I’ve got alllll the time in the world to do this, I love it so much.  If you need a friend, if you need a help, if you need a reminder how to find Home… please.  I’d love to help.

But.  If you’re being a wilful brat, as far as I’m concerned you’re making the whole family look bad.  Get over yourself and call me when you’re done with your tantrum.

Do.  Or do not.  There is no, “but whyyyyyyy”.

3 thoughts on “Different people, different attitudes

Leave a Reply

