Time Pressure, Paradox, and the Christian

I don’t have a bucket list.

And yet I feel pressured to make the most of each day.

Why?

Well, it’s because I’m a Christian.  And over and over in the Word, we’re told that *this* life is where we have the opportunity to do good works – to do things that bring glory to God and God to our fellow man.

We’re told that we don’t know how long we have left on this earth.  Sure, nutsybunnies like myself are looking for the Rapture, but all of us should have an understanding that God can end our sojourn on this planet at any second.  It’s not in our control.

I want to make the most of the time that I have, and I have no idea how long (or short) that is.  So – I feel pressure.   I feel pressure to witness and to pray for the souls of my unsaved friends and loved ones.  I feel pressure to brighten someone’s day and say the good thing, do the good thing.  I don’t know how long I have – and there is *so* much to be done, so many things to be said.

Contrariwise, I know that Heaven (and the New Earth) are immeasurably better than this planet, so though I have things I’d like to do while I’m here, I don’t feel any need to make a list of them or work on getting them done.  What will be, will be.  And who’s planning to spend any time dead?  Not me!  So… yes.  I’d like to stroll on the heathered shores of Scotland… but I expect I probably will eventually – eventually is a very long time.  No worries.

I was blessed yesterday to hear an elder saint speak… she said that so often, those who are extremely elderly don’t want to continue in Christian service because they’re tired.  Or they’re pushed to the side and not respected and wanted.  But God told *her* that He wanted her to continue serving until He closed the lid on her casket… and so she does.  She’s mostly blind and hears poorly… but she mentors, and she trains those who want to become mentors.   Doesn’t that make you tear up a bit?  Titus 2, hello.  The *willingness* to be poured out for the Lord, at a time and in circumstances that the world would say, “Oh you can rest now”.  Pfah!  She’ll rest in eternity – and meanwhile she’ll tell us that it’s almost a blessing to lose most of her vision, because she’s learned to read body language….

Pour me out, Lord… pour me out in the little things, the small moments, and pour me out in the big ones.  I have wasted so much of my life, I don’t want to waste any more moments.  I am Yours.

2 thoughts on “Time Pressure, Paradox, and the Christian

Leave a Reply

