Patience and Wonder

Still working along in the book, “Idol Lies”.  I must say I wasn’t particularly thrilled with chapter two *in the book* – but by the time I got done with the study questions, I had some serious food for thought.   The idol I have identified (this year) to work on is the idol of approval.  

A plan of attack and a plan of defense have shown up…

Plan of attack:  Wait upon the Lord.  All the verses that the study guide had me read talked about the immediacy of sinful desire.  So if I can consciously make choices to *wait* on approval instead of bouncing like a dog in a fake bacon commercial.. that would stave off the sinful aspects of approval-idolatry and let me work on 1) patience and 2) resting in the Lord.  Patience isn’t just a virtue – it’s something I need to have in my every day life.  I could start listing the ways that incorporating patience and not snatching would improve things, but we’d be here all day.

Plan of defense:  Focus on God.  This was in the study, and it’s on the header of my other blog… we are supposed to focus on the lovely things, and we’re supposed to look at God.  Biblically, that’s how we can avoid any amount of sin – put our attention on God.  So, I need to spend more time outside, preferably with time on my hands to just *look*.

Do you ever think about how the modern world works to separate us from a visceral understanding of awe?  All the time we’re plugged into the Matrix, whether our ears or our eyes… and when we’re not plugged into something for pleasure, we’re forced to for work.  Do you enjoy staring at ribbons of concrete when you have to drive somewhere?  Neither do I.  But if I sit and watch the hawks circle overhead for more than a second or two, I’ll find myself in an accident.

I need to be patient and wait upon the Lord, and I need to think about Him while I’m waiting… not just fill up my time with idle entertainment and comfort.

Patience and wonder.  That’s the way.

5 thoughts on “Patience and Wonder

  1. fiberaddict

    Driving time is a good time to talk to Ha’Shem. I try to every time I’m in the car – easy-ish when it’s just me, not so much when others are with me. I need to work on that…

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Yes. I have had some good conversations there. I am looking at how my life has gotten fractured into tiny little pieces. I can’t slap my endless 10 minute drives around town together, but it’s time to take a look at the rest of my life. To finish a thought – /sighs

      Reply
  2. Maeve

    Hearthie, The Anchoress (she’s over at the Patheos Site) has a post about readings for Lent with some very interesting topics, but also she has her own book out called “Strange Gods: Unmasking the Idols in Everyday Life” and I’m thinking of making this my Lenten read. I wanted to share because you’ve been so focused on personal “Idols” and have me thinking about that very topic as well.
    I often wish I lived near to some of the ladies I correspond with on the blogosphere – it would be so nice to pass along books we’ve read and enjoyed; that kind of thing.

    Reply
  3. Elspeth

    Hmm. I was just outside walking (recharging, LOL) and looked up at sky. It was perfectly crystal clear blue. The sun was the perfect bit to balance out the crisp 60 degree air, and I thought:, “How great thou art!”

    And my cell pone rang.

    This JUST happened in the past hour, and then I read your post.

    Great food for thought Hearthie. As always, I thank you sister.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

