What are you afraid of?

I see that the Satanists want to put up a statue next to the Ten Commandments in Oklahoma.  I say, let ’em.  But let’s have them put up *their* eleven commandments*.  I can walk my child up to the lists and say, “here you go.  Which list sounds like it makes for a better planet?”  Sure.  The Ten Commandments aren’t easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy… so what?  Do you want to live in our world – or theirs?

The secular humanists are going all out in Belgium.  They’re pushing a new law, allowing children to choose to be euthanized**.  A doctor would have a ‘chat’ with them telling them about their choices.  Post-Christian Europe.    This is what you wanted…. 

Did anyone see the philosophical debate going about the permissability of infanticide as just an extended form of abortion?  -cough- Gosnell -cough-  

I don’t like living in the world where I have to have discussions like this with my kids EITHER.   I want to live in a safe, happy place where there’s no danger and no dark.  I don’t like raising my kids in this world.  It disgusts me.  I want to scream and cry.   I don’t like having to find the bar of decent behavior somewhere around my ankles.  The darkness grows.

But we live here.  We live now.  No sense whinging about it.  We *can* use this to our advantage.  “Yeah, we Christians don’t always live up to our ideals.  But have you read what we’re shooting for?  What did you say they were going for?  Oh.  Personal empowerment at any cost?  Awesome.  How does that work out for the people around them?”

See, everyone wants to think of themselves as wolves rather than sheep.  Fine.  But in a land of sheep, everyone can be fat and happy.  In a land of wolves, eventually you get down to fang and claw, and only the strongest survive.   In a land of only wolves, eventually there can be only one, and the last wolf standing starves to death.  

Jesus is the Way, the Truth, and the *Light*…. Christians don’t have to be afraid of the dark.

John 3:19 This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil. 20 For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light for fear that his deeds will be exposed. 21 But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.

Joshua 24:14 “Now, therefore, fear the Lord and serve Him in sincerity and truth; and put away the gods which your fathers served beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord. 15 If it is disagreeable in your sight to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves today whom you will serve: whether the gods which your fathers served which were beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you are living; but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love. 

(verses taken from the New American Standard Bible, via Biblegateway)

 

 

 

*Look up the eleven commandments yourself.  I don’t feel right linking it.  The Satanist statue fluff? http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2013/12/09/satanists-we-want-a-monument-in-oklahoma/  Mostly it’s just grown up tantrum throwing, but there you are.

*http://www.cnn.com/2013/11/27/world/europe/belgium-euthanasia-children/  Sure.  Because authority figures make no difference to children.

8 thoughts on “What are you afraid of?

  1. Laceagate

    Well…this is part of the reason why I’ve been saying for a long time why trads need to stop being so reactive and idealistic and actually DO something about the state of the world. Naturally, humans have a habit of descending into chaos without God. We like to believe that we have a pretty good sense of order, morality, and structure. We like to say to ourselves “hey, we can manage that all by ourselves and do a good job of it, too.”

    Yeah, we try and then we suck badly and this is what we end up with. People often say that religion and God aren’t necessary for morality but God IS essential for morality. Humanity has always dabbled with moral relativism and we cite that we’re scared of absolute truth when in reality they make some people feel stifled–but there is a reason to ask WHY one feels stifled in the first place.

    I’m afraid that in this world of pro-child euthanasia, pro-infanticide in AND outside of the womb, pro-gay “marriage,” and pro-have-kids-out-of-heterosexual-marriage, promoting broken families, and the destruction of gender that it’s people who’ve indulged in their own darkness landing us where we are. I’m afraid that while people extoll these as great societal virtues, they’re robbing their children of greater principles yet are SO blinded they’d deny the truth anyway.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      My mentor was saying to me last week, “what people need in counseling isn’t advice, they need Jesus”. And while I think they could usually use some advice too (“don’t DO that”), she’s on the money in the main. We all need Jesus. We need to love Him, and we need to obey Him – or strive to do so. Society NEEDS people who worry about how the Almighty feels about what they’re up to.

      So, as traddies… what should we do? I think getting as many as possible in the fold, and then getting them educated in the faith – that’s where we start. When we get a ton of committed Christians who want to please God, then societal change will make itself. Otherwise, we’re trying to force jello up a hill.

      Reply
  2. Maeve

    And this morning I read that some judge has ordered the removal of the Mt. Soledad Cross. It’s things like this that just are so discouraging.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      That cross has been fought over for almost as long as I’ve been alive. Are you in the area, though? ’cause I *am*…. if so, we should find a coffee shop sometime in the new year.

      Reply
      1. Maeve

        I live Charleston SC….but my company is HQ in San Diego, and there’s every chance I’ll have a trip out there at some point, so if that’s nearish to you, I would LOVE to meet for coffee.

        It’s funny, this has, in many ways, been an excruciatingly difficult year for me, but at the same time, I’ve also “met” some very lovely ladies – and this is hard for me because I work from my home and I work very long hours. God always finds a way to send us what we need though.

        There was one other thing I wanted to mention to you. This morning I was over at Happy Catholic and there is a lovely post from a couple days ago called “Rejoice” that really made me think of your writings. I love that blog because it has such a hopeful tone. AND she also has posted a copy of Zinaida Serebriakova’s (1884–1967) At the Dressing-Table – made me think of our corset conversations LOL. Anyway, the painting is so lovely, I thought you might enjoy.

      2. hearthie Post author

        Oh, I’m going to have to run over! 🙂

        I don’t live in the city, but I do live in SD county so if you come out this way, we should definitely do coffee.

Leave a Reply

