Be Careful What You Wish For

This is going to be a bit more personal post than usual on this site, but it’s relevant to the theme of being an ambassador for Christ.

I did a spiritual scrub-up this weekend.  It’s something I do about once a year.  I really go through and look into my heart, see what needs to get dragged out into the light, what needs praying over, etc.   After doing that, I’ve had quite a lot of opportunities to pray for serious stuff going on in other people’s lives.

Look, I know I don’t have a huge readership, and mostly the people who do read here are sisters in Christ.  I’m good with that.  Eventually I’ll do something about making this a book, just as well I don’t spoil it by having half of it in the public domain.  If I can encourage you guys in your walks, then awesome sauce.

I’m just going to speak from my experience.   I do have a good family, I do have a tremendous amount of love set on “default”.  When I ask God to set me a task, He sends me *so many people* for whom that’s not true.  There is such a huge need for folks to love others.   I got a phone call today… I don’t want to reveal details at all, but basically I was thinking, “oh gosh.  I’m so tired.  I’ve been so busy.  I don’t want to do… ” and God was saying, “do it”.  And then I agree… and am humbled by the why.  This person needs to feel some love and normalcy.  (I know decency isn’t normal any more, but you know what I mean).  I didn’t know the why until after I agreed to the what.

I always have a hard time letting God set my appointments.  I either want to chase  them down (most often) or go take a nap instead.  But when He does, I am just …awestruck.  He uses me.  I don’t know how salvic the whole thing is (and I worry about that) but I do know that I am being used to disseminate love.

Don’t praise me for being loving.  I’ve never had a choice, it’s as much who I am as my eye color.  I am awed that God chooses to fill up my cup to overflowing so that I don’t have a choice to pour over.  It makes me happy, it makes me feel whole, like I’m doing what I was made for (and there is a powerful pleasure to that).

So today I want to encourage those of you who think that your “normal life” and “normal heart” have nothing to offer.  The world isn’t a normal decent place any longer, and your normal decent self… you have a LOT to offer.  Just let God use you.  He will, and He’ll bless others with the blessings He’s given you.

It’s pretty cool how He lets us share what He’s given us, isn’t it?  And always a surprise, always some way you’d never think possible.

So.  It’s been one of those days.  Last few days really.  And I’m sharing.  And now I’ll go take that nap.  😉

2 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. Sis

    It’s funny how His plans are rarely our plans. I’ve spent probably 4-5 hours today holding a sick kid and watching Daniel Tiger on PBS with her. Not getting much done, cancelled a dentist appt and Wednesday church for the kids, we are staying home and getting better today. I’d rather be busy, but nope, that’s not His plan. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

