Just Be Who You Are: No Boasting, No Hiding

There’s a difficult balance to be struck (balance is always a pest) between boasting and humility.

Hiding the good is hiding your lamp under a bushel.  Sometimes it’s uncomfortable to be the lamp, because you know that you’re making other people feel bad about their lives.  No one wants to do that to their friends.

I have a friend, her life has sucked from the get-go.  She told me not long ago that until she met me, she assumed that her (abusive) family was normal.  She didn’t think loving families really existed.  Until she met me, until she met my parents.  She was 15.

Let’s take a moment and think about that.  You know, it wasn’t until a few years later that I made the opposite discovery – that *I* knew people whose family members were more than just grumpy, they were outright abusive.  This didn’t just go on in books or movies.  (My friend hid just how awful her family was.  Innocent me, I thought they were just jerks … after all, they were nice to me…)

Being a light can make the darkness recede.  My friends with the awful families – guess what?  When I was around, their families at least tried to pretend to be normal.  And when they were with my family, they were exposed to love and peace and kindness.   That’s a very good thing.  I’ve had folks tell me that I was the best friend they’d ever had – because I treated them with what I call common courtesy.

I’m sure there was some resentment.  That’s not my fault.  I didn’t boast of my loving family – I thought it was normal.   I just… was.

The same thing goes for your Christian walk.  We’re accused sometimes of being Pollyannaesque.  And if you’re *faking* your happy – knock it off, our God is not the father of lies. But if you’re not?  If you’re happy and you know it?  Your life *should* surely show it.

Sometimes people will get angry or sad or resentful… and sometimes they’ll want to be your new best friend.  Light affects folks in different ways – and it affects folks in one way at first and in another in time.

Being who you are is not boastful.  You don’t have to hide.

16 thoughts on “Just Be Who You Are: No Boasting, No Hiding

  1. Elspeth

    Ooh Hearth. I really appreciate this today. You have no idea how much it blessed me to read it. I actually have a post in draft for Monday, but I think I’m going to give you a sneak peek of it. Get your thoughts.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: I’ll try not to bungle it this time (or why I appreciate “red pill” women)… | Loving in the Ruins

  3. sunshinemary

    Another good post!

    It can be a difficult balance to strike sometimes because if you see the good in your life and try to praise it – like saying how much you appreciate your husband for this or that reason – sometimes people will accuse you of boasting when really you were trying to praise.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Thanks! Yeah, pretty much. But that’s their heart speaking, not God. He’s faithful to kick my pants when I need unboastifying. Rarely is that about my situation, usually it’s about what “I” have done. :p

      Reply
  4. taylor

    I have been incredibly sad lately, and trying to hide it. It’s a tough line to walk, really. I can’t be crying at my desk at my office. It’s very tiring.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Sure. You can’t show sadness (or weakness of any kind) in a work environment. But do you have folks at home that you can talk to?

      If not, or even if so and you need another ear, drop me a line. I like talking.

      Reply
      1. hearthie Post author

        Ah! 🙂 Thank you. Yes, that’s the idea. I wasn’t sure where the fatherless children thing came from, that’s all. (Altogether true, just not in my house).

Leave a Reply

