Esther

I was reading Esther today and I saw something that dovetails with the parable of the talents.  

We’ve all been through the bit where Esther was put in the position as Queen of Persia in order to save the Jews… but do you remember that she was *terrified*?   She was terrified to use her talents to serve God.  If she messed up, the consequences would be swift and heavy – and she hadn’t asked for the talents she’d been given, or the position she’d ended up in because of those talents.

She made the choice to use what she’d been given (her beauty and her charm).  It worked out.  

All our talents are like that, you know.  It’s not just the talents we think of, intellectual or physical.  Who made your face?  I surely didn’t make mine.  I like my face.  I guess I can say that because my face is pretty near a copy of my maternal grandmother’s face.  Different crayons, she was a fair blonde.  But … same features.  Do I get to take credit for something I didn’t make?  Nope.  Should I use what has been given to me by God for good?  Yes, yes I should.

That means that the extra goodies you get because you’re pretty – stop feeling guilty about it.  You didn’t make your face.  But how about you use pretty for something useful?  Smile at the old man who doesn’t get smiled at.  Pass a word with the guy in the corner.  You can do this stuff with perfect propriety as a married lady – keep your spine straight, that’s the main thing.

We have all sorts of talents.  How are we using them for God?

2 thoughts on “Esther

  1. Maeve

    I had truly not thought of “talents” in that fashion – but you are so right.

    A couple of years ago I had read a blog post (I can’t remember the site) and the author was in a fit because she was at the grocery store looking at the nutritional information labels or something, and an older gentleman commented that she didn’t need to so that or she didn’t need to diet, or something to that effect. Something innocuous. And she took huge offense. Her post positive seethed with “how dare he!” Her commenters chimed in with plenty of agreement – he was a creep; nosy; mind his own business. I was chilled to the core by the attitudes being portrayed.

    It made me think of my own father at the time. He was elderly, in his early 80’s and he was largely confined to the house, taking care of my mother as she slowly lost her grip on reality. His only real respite was a short, daily trip to the grocery store. I could see him maybe making the same comment, thinking of me (from my days of struggling with eating disorders). That would have been like him – to just look to engage in a little conversation.

    And what would it have cost her to respond kindly? Or smile and engage in just a moment of conversation? As I recall she was a relatively attractive woman (had lost a bunch of weight) – she could have made some old gentleman’s day with a smile. She could have used her talents to maybe bring a little light into someone’s life. Chose instead to be offended.

    I have to say, the damn post and it’s vicious comments made me cry. Never read her again.

    Reply
  2. sunshinemary

    Smile at the old man who doesn’t get smiled at. Pass a word with the guy in the corner. You can do this stuff with perfect propriety as a married lady – keep your spine straight, that’s the main thing.

    That’s a lovely suggestion. A smile or a few moments of polite conversation in public is perfectly appropriate for a married woman.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

