Good things are still good things, even when they’re not best things

We in Christendom sometimes get a bit over excited about chasing after best things and look down upon ourselves when we want good things, deep inside.

This doesn’t help. We’re supposed to hold the good things that this world offers with open hands, knowing that they’ve been given to us for a season, and ready to drop them for better things – but that doesn’t mean that we’re not built to want good things. In fact, when we have a proper understanding of good things, we’re better able to drop them for best things. When I know that life has feasts, the fasts don’t seem so terrible. When I remember that we’re promised a great place to live in eternity, I can both enjoy and not stress about my current living conditions.

Temporal things are meant to reflect eternal things. Each of us is a lamp, made to reflect Light Himself. The love in our lives is supposed to reflect the love of Christ in our hearts. Good things are good!!

Yes, we’re all called to follow Christ through whatever suffering shows up. Yes, suffering is part of Christian life. But sometimes we deify suffering and act like every little thing is martyrdom. Really? Stop. People are dying in other countries. Someone snubbed you in the grocery store. That might hurt, but they’re really *really* not the same thing. It doesn’t help your sibling in Christ who is being imprisoned for you to magnify your inconveniences.

We’re supposed to be grateful! Being grateful for what we have been given, marveling in the riches that we have in this temporal world, this is *humility*. If I am grateful and humble about my riches, I’m more likely to think of ways to share them, instead of trying to justify myself in having them in the first place. You don’t need to feel bad about what you have. You didn’t give it to yourself. Steward what you have well, use it in the light of eternity and *get on with it*. It’s the parable of the talents all over again. It’s not that the dude with one talent was just least in gifts, he *hid his talent*. Nope. Not what they’re for. Don’t hide your talents. Use them.

It helps no one to hide what you have, to say that good is evil, to be so overtly religious that you don’t “work with your hands the thing that is good”.

Enjoy the good you have, and keep “ordo amoris” – the order of affections. Being ready to leave everything to serve the Lord doesn’t mean you sit in a dark room loving nothing until He calls you.

And if you’re called to do good things, do them. Cooking a good supper, working an honest day, sewing a fine seam – God calls us to those things, just as He does to fasting, prayer and sacrifice.

6 thoughts on “Good things are still good things, even when they’re not best things

  1. Sis

    I hurt my foot today, it made me think of you. I’ve been crawling and hopping around like a bunny. I wish you lived closer, glad it’s the weekend.

    Reply
    1. hearthie Post author

      Eek! I wish you did too. ((hugs)) put some ice on it and ELEVATE IT. Feet don’t have very good circulation. Over your heart, and yes – that means the rest of you is flat. I know. Pain in the butt me. You okay?????

      Reply
      1. Sis

        I’m ok, it only hurts when it is touched. I think I might need crutches, I’m thinking about going and living at my parents for a week so the girls get taken care. elevating 🙂
        Love you

      2. hearthie Post author

        That’s not good. Any swelling? What did you do to it? Yes, your baby girls need full-time care right now. My mom came and took care of mine as needed when I was in nappy land. -sends loves-

      3. Sis

        I had all three of the girls and one of them needed my attention, so I looked back and stepped off of a big curb in a very strange way. I can tell I pulled several “ligaments?”, but it doesn’t feel broken. Nothing too heroic, kind of a boring story, but I can tell it is bad. Will probably be nursing it for at least a month. It has been fun having servants tonight.

      4. hearthie Post author

        Hope you went to the doctor too – or that you do if it’s still sore on Monday. You shouldn’t be so hurt that you can’t walk without seeing an MD. ((soft hugs))

Leave a Reply

