Functional Atheism

To the concepts of “Functional Savior” and “Functional Heaven” I think we need to add “Functional Atheism”.

When you have a functional savior, you treat something (or someone) in your life as if they can fix what ails you.

When you have a functional heaven, you are trying to make something here perfect, so that you can be perfectly safe, perfectly happy, perfectly secure.

When you are a functional atheist, although you acknowledge God with your mouth, your actions indicate that you don’t give the least thought to Him or to His laws. That’d be taking the name of the Lord in vain, btw.

Matthew 7:21-27 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter. Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness.’ “Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock. Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. The rain fell, and the [floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell—and great was its fall.”

Am I the only one who quakes at this? I don’t point fingers at individuals, my “fruit inspection”* is a private matter. But the idea that you could mouth allegiance to the Creator and Judge and … and just blow Him off? Not even feel guilty, just get up and do what you’re doing and think it’s all cool? Do you REALLY think that’s how it works?

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Maybe that’s why the word of God calls atheists fools. I wonder what God calls those who pretend they believe and don’t act on it?

I never want to find out.

*hat-tip, Dr. McGee, see the verses immediately previous.

2 thoughts on “Functional Atheism

  1. Elspeth

    I read this when you first posted it. I was just too shaken to respond at first. I don’t believe I’m a fucntional atheist of course, but the verses you quoted have always haunted me because how do I know, you know?

    Lots of food for thought here so I don’t have much to say. Just wanted to offer you some encouragement. Keep the exhortations coming, Hearth. They bless me tremendously.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

