It Ain’t Over Until It’s Over

A second thing that annoys the heck out of me in this day and age is the assumption that you are done with your entire life by the time you turn 30. (And I’m being generous).

You’re done learning.
You’re done growing as a person.
You’re done with positive change.
You’re irrevocably set on a path from which your feet may never stray.

Gracious. If I thought *that* about adulthood, I’d jump off the pier and have done. Personally, does the Lord tarry, I’m expecting another five decades of life. If you told me that I was never going to learn anything else in the next fifty years, … well, I’d laugh at you.

I had a great… you know what? I didn’t, actually. I had a nice, normal, uneventful, teenage life. My twenties were full of random drama, but mostly remarkable by achieving what now seems well-nigh impossible. (A ring, a mortgage, a baby – in that order). My thirties were full of being a mom to young kids. Busy, mostly. I’ve been a SAHM since the first baby. He’s 13 as of a couple weeks ago.

Now I’m forty, and the world is opening before me like an oyster. I’m teaching my kids – and learning along with them. Fun! I’m interning at church – and learning, and growing. I’m making new friends and developing new skills. I’m working my tail off! And I love it. LOVE IT.

And they came ’round with the black crepe* last birthday… why? That’s just stupid. Yes. I’m no longer a fresh young thing looking to pick a husband. K. I have a husband. He’s awesome. We’ve just about worn the worst of the rough spots off. Marriage is better than it ever has been. I should want to date? You people are on something.

We *should* enjoy the stages we’re in. When you’re a fresh young thing – enjoy it. Enjoy being a young married, a young mom. Work through having $10 to get you to payday and nothing in the fridge. Builds teamwork. The crazy stuff your friends did? Story fodder. Toddlers? Character, like crazy. It’s all good!

Well, it’s all good if you let it be given over to God. Let Him use it as it’s meant to be used – strictly raw material. Just situation after situation, polishing you up and making you what He wants you to be.

I know He’s not done with me. This ride is a whole lot of fun. I love being His to mold, even when it hurts a bit. I can’t wait to see what’s around the corner. I’m filled with excitement and joy. Don’t ask me to look back and mourn what has past. I won’t. Instead, take my hand and let’s look forward to what comes next!

*No, they didn’t really. My friends know exactly how that’d play out. I don’t hang out with fools.

3 thoughts on “It Ain’t Over Until It’s Over

  1. Elspeth

    I have a husband. He’s awesome. We’ve just about worn the worst of the rough spots off. Marriage is better than it ever has been. I should want to date? You people are on something.

    I have no doubt that I’ll be ripping this for future use, LOL. I don’t think I could have said it any better.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Random snippets from the scenes of my life. | Loving in the Ruins

Leave a Reply

