Ambassadors are Under Orders

I have a close non-Christian friend that I ran some of the bloggy goodness by, and she questioned me on the whole meme of “not of this world”. She feels like it feeds into not taking care of this world, making a big mess, and basically being so heavenly minded that you’re no earthly good. (If she’s reading this – yes, we have a catchphrase for that!)

I love it when people thump me on the head and make me re-think my writing. Oh, I still agree with myself, but explanations are in order. 🙂

Some ambassadors act like they can do anything they like in the country they’re sent out to, but it only makes their country look bad. I don’t want to make my Country or my Liege look bad! On the contrary.

Once a person is saved, they get a permanent one-way ticket to Heaven. You have to wonder why we stay here, and don’t go all Jim Jones on y’all. Some of it is fleshly fondness for our friends and our lives, but not all of it. Paul wrote that it was better for him to be dead, but better for his followers that he was alive (2 Corinthians 5). That’s how it is for all Christians, if you think about it – better for us in Heaven, but better for those around us, if we’re still here.

While we’re on Earth, we’re deployed. We have a list of things to do – there’s a basic list, and then there’s a person-specific list. One of my “things” is exhortation. Doesn’t feel like much to me, but if God wants me to do it, I’ll go do it. (I enjoy it too much for it to be “work”). That’s a Hearthie-specific task. As a mom and wife, I have tasks like taking care of my kids, making sure dinner’s ready, that sort of thing – and you know, that can be done well or poorly. It can be done to get done, or it can be done as unto the Lord. There’s always something to be done, and much will be required of whom much was given.

I guess you could call me a bit obsessed on that angle… because I have been given so many gifts. I started listing them out, but it got embarrassing. The thing is – I know I’ll be called on to account for those gifts. “What did you do with what I gave you?” I don’t want to come up short. I know that in the past I haven’t always used my time as well as I could have. Mistakes *have* been made. Time *has* been wasted. I can’t go back in time – but I can go forward. I want to please God. I want to hear, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant”. (I think in KJV some of the time, just go with it).

At any time, the trumpet can sound and that one-way ticket can activate. If the Trump doesn’t sound – a bus can jump the street, or a loony can decide to stab you while you’re at the toy store. Control is an illusion. I want to live my life in a way that I am giving a gift of self with my last breath. I care about blessing those around me.

And maybe I’m crazy, thinking that other Christians care about the same thing… but maybe they need to be reminded. Reminded that beauty and peace come from Above, reminded that they’re on deployment, that this isn’t their home. We are here for a reason, so we’d best do a good job.

One thought on “Ambassadors are Under Orders

  1. Pingback: Hidden and upside down. | - Dark Brightness

Leave a Reply

