Get up

For a long time, Christians in the West have been in relative power. We’ve arranged society – more or less – to make it easy to live the Christian life. (More or less. Mammon has always been a problem). We’ve allowed ourselves to slip into Laodicean habits. Thinking ourselves rich, we have become terribly poor.

That time is done.

It is too easy to slip into a romantic notion that American Christians are being persecuted. We aren’t. We *are* suddenly no longer the cool kids – but it could be argued that we never really were cool, because Christianity isn’t cool. (Too much obedience). What we have lost is the solidity of default power.

I don’t think this is a bad thing, for the Church. For the World, it is a terrible thing – and you can look up any number of statistics to back that up. But the Church has a beautiful opportunity to return to the core of her mission, to return to the source of her power. We’ve allowed ourselves to act like our power comes from our situation. How ridiculous! We are children of God – our power comes from Him.

Rev 3:17-18 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked: I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see.

My power is not my own. My strength is not my own. I am not my own. ALL IS GOD’S.

It is time to stop acting like our power comes from the flesh. We belong to Jesus, and He will give us the strength to do that which we have been commanded to do.

We the Church, the Bride of Christ, must differentiate ourselves from the World. We are to love one another radically, we are to love the lost, radically. We are to love Jesus, radically, and let our light shine. We are to tell the World the good news, and we are to live like we’re redeemed.

I do not own myself. I am *not* my own woman. Nor does my husband own me, although he’s got a managing interest. No. I am a slave to Christ, His servant, His daughter, His representative.

No half measures. And no more hiding my light under a bushel. No more cowardice.

Watch out, I’m planning to get you on your feet.

Leave a Reply

